free web stats Satellites, Meteors, Constellations and Auroras. - Global Epidemic Observational Studies Organization

Satellites, Meteors, Constellations and Auroras.


A satellite is a large body, which revolves around a planet. The Solar System has 162 satellites. Out of these satellites, Jupiter has 63, Saturn has 56, Uranus has 27, Neptune has 13, Mars has 2 and Earth has one satellite(Moon). The major Satellites of the Solar System are as under:

Planets and satellites - CBSE Class VI Social Science lesson - YouTube
Planets and Their satellites.
  • Earth: Moon
  • Mars: Phobos, Deimos.
  • Neptune: Triton, Nereid
  • Uranus: Miranda, Ariel, Umbriel, Titania, Oberson.
  • Jupiter: Metis, adrastea, Amalthea, Thebe, Lo, Europa, Ganymede, Callisto, Leda, Elara, Himalia, Lysithea.
  • Saturn: Mimas, Tethys, rhea, Titan, Hyperion, Phoebe, Tethys Co


A meteor is a small cosmic body, which gives a streak of light when it burns up and enters the atmosphere of the Earth. This phenomenon also takes place when the Earth passes through a stream of meteors at the same time each year. An interplanetary rock may have a mass ranging from 10-7 grams to a complete asteroid weighing several thousand tons. Due to the long streak of light, the meteor is called a shooting star. The largest meteorite weighing about 70 tons was found at Hoba in Namibia. The fragments of the Meteor fall on Earth creating craters in the surface of Earth.

A meteorite is a piece of cosmic debris weighing over 100 kg that falls on the earth. Thousands of Meteorites fall to the Earth each year. So far, the largest meteorite weighing 70 tons lies embedded near Grootfontein (South West Africa). Similarly, another meteorite weighing 34 tons is on an exhibition in New York.

Difference between Meteoroid, Meteor, and Meteorite:

Meteor: When a small piece of cometary or asteroidal material enters the atmosphere of Earth, it blazes due to friction with atmospheric air and burns down. It is observed in the form of a Light streak. It is called Meteor.

Meteoroid: Before entering into Earth’s atmosphere, a cometary material is floating in space near the planet. Now it is called Meteoroid.

Meteorite: Most meteoroids that enter the atmosphere burn up completely as meteors. In some cases, however, the meteoroid does not completely burn up, and the object actually makes it to Earth’s surface. The chunk that has survived its fiery journey and fallen on the surface of Earth is called a meteorite. Or the Unburnt pieces of a Meteor which are all on the surface of Earth are called Meteorites.


Constellations are clusters of stars in recognizable patterns visible in the night sky. Major constellations include Big Bear (Ursa Major), Canis Major, Leo, etc. So far, 88 constellations have been discovered.

Constellations and asterisms: what's the difference? - skyatnightmagazine
Night Sky with Constellations
  • Andromeda
  • Antila
  • Apus
  • Aquarius
  • Aquila
  • Aura
  • Aries
  • Auriga
  • Bootes
  • Caelum
  • Camelopardalis
  • Cancer
  • Canes Venatici
  • Canis Minor
  • Canis Major
  • Capricomus
  • Carina
  • Cassiopia
  • Centaurus
  • Cephus
  • Cetus
  • Chameleon
  • Circinos
  • Columba
  • Coma Berenices
  • Corona Australis
  • Corona Bonealis
  • Corvus
  • Crater
  • Crux
  • Cygnus
  • Delphinus
  • Dorada
  • Draco
  • Equleus
  • eridanus
  • Formax
  • Gemini
  • Grus
  • Hercules
  • Horologium
  • Hydra
  • Hydrus
  • indus
  • Laeerta
  • Leo
  • Leo Minor
  • Lepus
  • Libra
  • Lupus
  • Lynx
  • Lyra
  • Mensa
  • Microscopium
  • Monceros
  • Musca
  • Norma
  • Octans
  • Ophiuchus
  • Pavo
  • Pegasus
  • Perseus
  • Phoenix
  • Pictor
  • Pisces
  • Piscis
  • Puppis
  • Pyxis
  • Reticulum
  • Sagitta
  • Sagittarius
  • Scorpius
  • Sculptor
  • scutum
  • Serpens
  • Sextans
  • Taurus
  • Telescopium
  • Triangulum
  • triangulum astrale
  • Tucana
  • Ursa Major
  • Ursa Minor
  • Vela
  • Virgo
  • Volans
  • Vulpecula
  • Orion


These are the northern and the southern lights. Out of these, the northern lights are also called Aurora Borealis and the Southern lights are called Aurora Australis. These lights are luminous occurrences at high altitudes in various shapes such as arcs, bands, and patches. According to modern research, auroras take place due to the leakage of electrons from the outer Van Allen layer.

The 7 Best Places to See the Northern Lights and Southern Lights
Aurora Borealis
Aurora Australis puts on a show across Tasmania | The Examiner |  Launceston, TAS
Aurora Astralis

Video of Northern Lights
Northren Lights of Aurora Borealis


Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *