Region of Africa

The continent of Africa is divided into five regions:

  1. North Africa
  2. West Africa
  3. East Africa
  4. South Africa
  5. Central Africa

(1). North Africa:

The region of North Africa lies to the South of the Mediterranean Sea. It comprises of Western Sahara, Morocco, Algeria, Tunisia, Libya and Egypt.

(2). West Africa:

West Africa comprises of Mauritania, Mali, Niger, Senegal, Zambia, Guinea, Burkina Faso, Cote D’Ivoire, Sierra Leone, Liberia, Ghana, Benin, Nigeria, And Guinea Bissau.

(3). East Africa:

East Africa is bordered by Egypt in the North by Red Sea in the North East and by Indian Ocean in the East. It comprises of Sudan, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Somalia, Uganda, Kenya and Burundi.

(4). South Africa:

This region covers the Southern part of Africa and contains the richest deposits of precious minerals. It consists of the following countries:

Angola, Zambia, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Mozambique, Lesotho, Swaziland, South Africa, and Madagascar.

(5). Central Africa:

Central Africa, defined by the UN Subregion, consists of the following countries: Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Congo Republic – Brazzaville, Democratic Republic of Congo, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, São Tomé & Principe. This region covers the equator and contains the Congo Basin, with the second-largest rainforest in the world. Oil is a leading export of the region. Following the Rwanda genocide of 1994, this region is still challenged to achieve economic and political stability. 

Other country subdivisions include those arranged by the African Development Bank Group and the African Union.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *