free web stats Fluvial cycle of erosion - Global Epidemic Observational Studies Organization

Fluvial cycle of erosion

The word fluvial means running water and has been derived from the Latin word ”Fluvus” meaning river. Thus the fluvial cycle of erosion involves the degradation caused by running water in the shape of rivers, streams, and springs. Rivers are responsible for erosion and transportation simultaneously. They act through mechanical corrosion (Mechanical grinding of the river’s traction load), chemical corrosion (Chemical and solve action of water), hydraulic action, and attrition.

Features evolved on domed, folded, and high terrains:

The fluvial cycle of erosion evolves many features on domed and folded terrains. These features are given below.

  1. Hanging Valleys (caused by glaciers).
  2. Aretes (Pyramidal Peaks).
  3. Cirque (Horse-shoe shaped basin).
  4. Gorge steep narrow passage or valley in the mountain.
  5. Peneplains (name given by Davis to a flat surface or plain).        Davis Cycle of Erosion
  6. Monad nocks (Un-eroded remnant hills).
  7. Trough (Term used for the lowest part of a wave and glacial valley).
  8. Horns (Sharp pointed, Matterhorn-like mountain peak).
  9. Cones (Cone shaped volcanoes)
  10. Ribbon Lakes (A type of lake).
  11. Bergschrund (Deep vertical crack).
  12. Crag (Hard rock with the slope on the upstream side).
  13. Eskers (Ridges composed of sand and gravels).
  14. Kame (Mound of bedded sand).
  15. Drumlins (A mound of a height of 300 feet).
  16. Boulder Terrain (A series of Boulders).

Also Read:




Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *